, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The recent announcement of the 2014 Eisner Award nominees have occasioned much debate here at the I&N offices (located in a snug chateau high in the Swiss Alps). Needless to say we were filled with outrage! (And by ‘outrage’ I mean ‘mild disagreement’.) The choices for nominees did not exactly match our own! The temerity! This would not stand! And so, we here at I&N proudly present: the Innies!

What does ‘Innies’ stand for? Well other than an attempt at shameless self-branding, it stands for ‘independence’! Being ‘in’ the know! Part of the ‘in’ crowd! And possessing the non-freaky type of belly button.

Since we don’t have the big-time budget of the fancy-pants Eisners, we’ve limited ourselves to six categories (sorry Letterers of Archival Collections of Anthologies for Early Readers!)

If the Eisners are the Oscars, and the Harveys are the Golden Globes, then we’re the Independent Spirits! (or at least the Ace Awards)

Without further adieu:

Best Limited Series:

  • Fury: My War Gone By, by Garth Ennis and Goran Parlov (Marvel/Max)
  • Mister X: Eviction, by Dean Motter (Dark Horse)
  • Numbercruncher, by Simon Spurrier and PJ Holden (Titan)
  • Six-Gun Gorilla, by Simon Spurrier and Jeff Stokely (BOOM!)
  • Wild Blue Yonder, by Zach Howard, Mike Raicht, Nelson Daniel, and Austin Harrison (IDW)

Best Ongoing Series:

  • Afterlife with Archie, by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and Francesco Francavilla (Archie)
  • Fatale, by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
  • Lazarus, by Greg Rucka and Michael Lark (Image)
  • Mind MGMT, by Matt Kindt (Dark Horse)
  • Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Writer:

  • Matt Kindt, Mind MGMT (Dark Horse)
  • Dean Motter, Mister X (Dark Horse)
  • Greg Rucka, Lazarus (Image)
  • Simon Spurrier, Six-Gun Gorilla (BOOM!), Numbercruncher (Titan)
  • Brian K. Vaughan, Saga (Image)

Best Artist:

  • Francesco Francavilla, Afterlife with Archie (Archie)
  • Matt Kindt, Mind MGMT (Dark Horse)
  • Terry Moore, Rachel Rising (Abstract Studio)
  • Dean Motter, Mister X (Dark Horse)
  • Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)

Best Colorist:

  • Laura Allred
  • Jordie Bellaire
  • Francesco Francavilla
  • Dave Stewart
  • Jose Villarrubia

Best Comic Book Related Website Run By Two High-School Teachers In Their Spare Time In The Greater NY Area: 

  • Images and Nerds

Now it’s your turn. Who did we miss?

Let the internet shouting begin!

Turning pages,

Derek & Scott